Geographical scope

The area of cooperation between Programme and neighbouring partner countries within Erasmus+ spreads over 13 000 km and covers 13 time zones from the Azores to Kamchatka. All together, it includes 55 countries, with a total population of roughly 1 billion people!

Programme Countries:
28 European Union member states and Turkey, Serbia, North Macedonia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway

Region 1 - Western Balkans:
Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo*, Montenegro

Region 2 - Eastern Partnership countries:
Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine

Region 3 - South-Mediterranean countries:
Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine*, Syria, Tunisia

Region 4 - Russian Federation


* Kosovo: this designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

* Palestine: this designation shall not be construed as recognition of a State of Palestine and is without prejudice to the individual positions of the Member States on this issue.

back to top