Opportunities for Cooperation with Eastern Partnership countries and Russian Federation

Basic information about our programme.

Applications for project grants can only be submitted by applicants based in Programme Countries to the National Agency in charge of Erasmus+ Youth in the applicant's country. Currently, organisations based in the Programme's Neighbouring Partner Countries, including Eastern Partnership countries and Russian Federation, can be partners in projects, but cannot submit applications themselves.

You will find more information in the programme guide. We kindly ask you to read information on this page as well as in the programme guide before asking questions. You will find lots of answers there!

What is the Erasmus+ Programme?

Erasmus+ is the EU's Programme in the field of education, training, youth and sport implemented from 1 January 2014 until 31 December 2020 with a total budget of 14.774 billion EUR. Erasmus+ Programme is the result of the integration of the following European programmes implemented by the Commision during the period 2007-2013:

  • The Lifelong Learning Programme
  • The Youth in Action Programme
  • The Erasmus Mudus Programme
  • Tempus
  • Alfa Edulink
  • Programmes of cooperation with industrialised countries in the field of higher education

Erasmus+ Programme aims at going beyond these programmes, by promoting synergies and cross-fertilisation throughout the different fields of education, training and youth, removing artificial boundaries between the various Actions and project formats, fostering new ideas, attracting new actors from the world of work and civil society and stimulating new forms of cooperation.

Erasmus+ Youth

In the field of youth, Erasmus+ will support the following main Actions:

  • Mobility for young people and youth workers (under Key Action 1) promoting Youth Exchanges, European Voluntary Service and mobility of youth workers in cooperation with Partner Countries neighbouring EU;
  • Strategic Partnerships (under Key Action 2)
  • Involvement of young people and youth organisations from Partner Countries neighbouring the EU in the youth Structured Dialogue (under Key Action 3) through their participation in international meetings, conferences and events that promote dialogue between young people and decision makers


  • To improve the level of key competences and skills of young people, including those with fewer opportunities, and youth workers, as well as to promote participation in democratic life in Europe and the labour market, active citizenship, intercultural dialogue, social inclusion and solidarity;
  • To foster quality improvements in youth work, in particular through enhanced cooperation between organisations in the youth field and/or other stakeholders;
  • To complement policy reforms at local, regional and national level and to support the development of knowledge and evidence-based youth policy as well as the recognition of non-formal and informal learning;
  • To enhance the international dimension of youth activities.

More information about Key Actions.

The Erasmus+ Programme is open to the following countries:

PROGRAMME COUNTRIES can fully take part in all the Actions of the Erasmus+ Programme:

1. Member States of the European Union

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

2. Non EU Programme Countries

former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Turkey

PARTNER COUNTRIES NEIGHBOURING THE EU can take part in certain Actions of the Programme, subject to specific criteria or conditions (for more information, please consult Part B of th Programme Guide):

Eastern Partnership countries Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine
Other Russian Federation
Western Balkans Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo (*), Montenegro, Serbia
Southern Mediterranean countries Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Palestine, Tunisia

(*) This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

OTHER PARTNER COUNTRIES in the world can take part in some Actions of the Programme. For more information, please consult the description of the Actions of the Programme in Part B of the Programme Guide.

There are 3 application deadlines per year. In 2017 deadlines are:

  • 2 of February
  • 26 of April
  • 4 of October
back to top